GLOOM

The Confrontation


You should have waited till my roots were firm enough to hold my being. 
You should have waited for the storm.
I guess you didn’t see it coming because you were busy packing out of the world leaving me in it.


My boat sank, the anchor could not hold, I could not sail through, I left the paddle to save my face from what the world made of a girl without a father. I hid, from stretched hands of bullies who constantly reminded me of how you left without goodbye.


I needed some time, some nurturing, some couching on how to live this cruel world without you in it. I needed to know how to be a bedrock on my own.
But you left right before my eyes, in the midst of hungry wolves.
I chased you up but my feet failed, the path you tread,  I could not sojourn with those week legs of mine.


When my eyes tear,  I hate you!
Why did you start what you could not seal and lit my weak emotions on flames?
Why did you leave?
To wreck my walls, or to break my balls?


You chose to stand faraway  on the other side to watch my struggle through raging tides and still demanded that I walk this life whole.

My bow froze at your sudden exit and looking up became a lesson I had to unlearn.


You should have waited for the branches to grow.
But now,  I’m sure you see,
the spore you left  beneath the willow,
It did not rain,
the blazing sun burnt off my grace.

DADDY!


9 thoughts on “GLOOM

Leave a comment